SPONSORS

IEEE IEEE CPMT Society
EMC-S
ACRI Fondazione CRT

PLATINUM Sponsors

FCI

GOLD Sponsors

IdemWorks Keysight MentorGraphics

SILVER Sponsors

CST
Ansys SISoft

Best Student Paper Award Sponsor

NVIDIA

Other Sponsors

IBIS

SPI2016 YOUNG INVESTIGATOR TRAINING PROGRAM

Submission is closed.

SPI2016 YOUNG INVESTIGATOR TRAINING PROGRAM

The SPI2016 Young Investigator Training Program (YITP) aims at promoting scientific collaboration and international mobility of early stage researchers traveling to Italy for attending the SPI2016 conference. Financial support is available in form of research awards, subject to the regulations below.

Who can apply?

The SPI2016 Young Investigator Training Program is reserved to early stage researchers. Applicants must:

  • be at most 40 years old as of 28 February 2016;
  • hold a position in a foreign (non-Italian, worldwide) research institution. There are no particular requirements on the nature of applicants' position: the SPI2016 YITP is open to full-time and part-time researchers from both private and public institutions, and to PhD students.

The total number of positions that can be funded ranges from 10 to 15, depending on the country of origin of the awardees.

How does it work?

The awardees of the SPI2016 YITP grants must:

  • attend SPI2016, possibly presenting an oral or poster contribution. A proof of registration to the conference will be required before granting the awards.
  • append (to the same trip for SPI2016) a one-month stay in one of the research centers of the SPI2016 YITP Network. A detailed list of currently available centers, together with the scientific responsible and a list of tentative research topics is available below. The one-month stay may precede or follow SPI2016.

Awardees will receive a research award, whose amount will depend on the country of origin:

  • 3000€ (if traveling from Europe)
  • 4000€ (if traveling from outside Europe)

This funding will cover participation to the conference, as well as travel costs, lodging, and meals for the entire one-month visiting period. A special registration fee for SPI will be reserved to the awardees. Any additional expenses exceeding the above budgets will not be refunded.

The SPI2016 YITP Network

The research centers where candidates can choose to spend their one-month research stay are listed in the table below.

Research Center Scientific responsible Suggested research topics
Politecnico di Torino
Dept. Electronics and Telecommunications
EMC Group
Available positions: 3
Prof. Flavio Canavero, flavio.canavero@polito.it
Prof. Stefano Grivet-Talocia, stefano.grivet@polito.it
Macromodeling and Model Order Reduction, Modeling and simulation for SI/PI, Transmission line theory and modeling
Politecnico di Milano
Dipartimento di Elettronica Informazione e Bioingegneria
Available positions: 1
Prof. Sergio Pignari, sergio.pignari@polimi.it Topics to be announced
University of l'Aquila
Dept. of Industrial and Information Engineering and Economics
UAq EMC Laboratory
Available positions: 3
Prof. Giulio Antonini, giulio.antonini@univaq.it
Prof. Antonio Orlandi, antonio.orlandi@univaq.it
Transmission line theory and modeling, Electromagnetic compatibility, Modeling and simulation for SI/PI, 3D IC and packages (TSV/SiP/SoC), Power wireless transfer at PCB level
University of Naples "Federico II"
Dipartimento di Ingegneria elettrica e delle Tecnologie dell'Informazione
Available positions: 1
Prof. Giovanni Miano, giovanni.miano@unina.it Topics to be announced
University of Rome "La Sapienza"
Dept. Astronautics Engineering, Electrical and Energy
Available positions: 2
Prof. Salvatore Celozzi, salvatore.celozzi@uniroma1.it Transmission line theory and modeling, Electromagnetic compatibility
University of Cassino and Southern Lazio
Dept. Electrical and Information Engineering "Maurizio Scarano"
Available positions: 2
Prof. Antonio Maffucci, maffucci@unicas.it Modeling and characterization of nanoscale electrical transport, Reduced-order models for electromagnetic problems
University of Ferrara
Dept. Engineering
Available positions: 1
Prof. Gianluca Setti, gianluca.setti@unife.it Topics to be announced
University of Pavia
Dept. Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering
Available positions: 2
Prof. Maurizio Bozzi, maurizio.bozzi@unipv.it Full-wave modeling of integrated waveguide components, Equivalent-circuit modeling of integrated waveguide components, Implementation of low-loss transmission lines by 3D-printing
University of Pisa
Dept. Information Engineering
Available positions: 1
Prof. Luca Fanucci, luca.fanucci@iet.unipi.it Topics to be announced
University of Pisa
Dept. Energy, Systems, Territory and Costruction Engineering
Available positions: 1
Prof. Marco Raugi, marco.raugi@unipi.it Transmission line theory and modeling, Electromagnetic compatibility, Wireless power transfer and communications in power distribution networks.
Istituto superiore Mario Boella (ISMB), Torino
Lab. Advanced Computing and Electromagnetics (LACE)
Available positions: 1
Dr. Giorgio Giordanengo, giordanengo@ismb.it Topics to be announced

How to apply?

Interested candidates should apply for the SPI2016 YITP by sending an email message with subject "SPI2016 YITP Application" to yitp@spi2016.polito.it, attaching the following documentation:

  1. The SPI2016 YITP Application Form, completed in all parts, dated and signed. This form must include (in order of preference) at least three research centers that the candidate would like to visit.
  2. A one-page abstract (included in the Application Form) describing the specific research topics that the candidate would like to work on during his/her stay.
  3. An updated CV (max two pages).
  4. In case the applicant is an Author of a paper submitted or accepted for SPI2016, the corresponding paper ID.

The application deadline has expired (28 February 2016).

Selection process

All applications will be reviewed and ranked by a selection committee, whose members include the General Chair and the Program Co-Chairs of SPI2016. The YITP Awards will then be assigned starting from the top-ranked applicants, until the entire budget of the program is used. The final decision is expected by 15 March 2016.